Panyaden Graduating Student Profile

Over the course of their study at Panyaden International School, students gradually build an increasingly deeper understanding of a set of core principles that are based on the four areas of development (bhavana): physical, social, emotional and intellectual. This understanding characterizes our graduating students and is the foundation for moral conduct, healthy relationships and strength of character.

In relation to the material world (physical development), a Panyaden student understands that:

  • Consuming things that keep the body fit and healthy also keeps the mind calm and clear.
  • Showing care and respect for the environment enhances the quality of our lives.
  • Needs and wants are different and understanding them helps us bring balance to our lives.

In relation to society (moral development), a Panyaden student understands that:

  • Choosing the right words at the right time and right place leads to healthy relationships.
  • Being open to other people’s views helps us grow.
  • Good teamwork yields results richer than the sum of the parts.

In relation to the emotions (mind development), a Panyaden student understands that:

  • Being kind and compassionate generates positive effects for oneself and others.
  • Love of learning is created through effort and perseverance.
  • We are the only ones who can control our emotions and reactions.

In relation to the intellect (wisdom development), a Panyaden student understands that:

  • Life is more meaningful when we skilfully reflect on experience and carefully filter information.
  • A wise decision is one that is logical, practical and beneficial to both oneself and others.
  • Our intentions, words and actions create our own future.

Panyaden 12 Wise Habits

The 12 Wise Habits are the tools that we use every day at school to develop an understanding of the Graduating Student Profile principles.

  1. Not harming (Avihimsa)
  2. Knowing the right amount (Mattanuta)
  3. Being enthusiastic (Chanda)
  4. Persevering (Viriya)
  5. Being patient and tolerant (Khanti)
  6. Being mindful and alert (Sati)
  7. Being calm and focused (Samadhi)
  8. Being truthful (Sacca)
  9. Using the senses wisely (Indriya-samvara)
  10. Being kind and compassionate (Metta-Karuna)
  11. Being generous (Caga)
  12. Applying the mind skilfully (Yoniso-manasikara)

Download our

Download the 2017-2020 School Strategic Plan

Print Friendly, PDF & Email